Media Center

Cincinnati State News


Cincinnati State Nursing students from the cohort that graduated in December 2018 achieved a pass rate of 98.2% on the National Council Licensure Examination for Registered Nurses (NCLEX). Out of 56 graduates (some of whom are seen above with faculty member Beth Hamon, right), 55 graduates passed the NCLEX on the first attempt.


Cincinnati State’s American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Student Chapter received an Honorable Mention Letter from the ASCE professional organization in recognition of the student group's 2018 activities. Chapter advisor and Civil Engineering Technologies Program Chair Carol Morman said the Cincinnati State Student Chapter was rated in the top third of all ASCE student chapters in the US in terms of activities and experiences provided to members and the community. 


Beth Hamon, Professor of Nursing (seen above during a mission trip to Honduras), was recognized as one of “100 Great Ohio Nurses” by the Ohio Nurses Association and the Ohio Nurses Foundation. The list of "100 Great Ohio Nurses" for 2019 appeared in the April issue of the publication The Ohio Nurse.


Dr. Monica Posey with 2019 House-Bruckmann Faculty Excellence Awards recipients Mark Tiemeier (Biology) and Laura Drake (Paralegal) (in front) and the other House-Bruckmann Award nominees (back, from left): Janet Schlaak (Math), Mike House (Math), Daniel Anderson (History), Jen Martin (Associate of Arts & Associate of Science), Meredith Effler (English Composition & Literature), Candice Jones (Dietetics), Julie McLaughlin (First Year Experience & Leadership), Stephanie Stafford (... read more


Ninety individuals from 36 countries throughout the world took the oath to become U.S. citizens in a naturalization ceremony on Apr. 5, 2019, in the Conference Center on Clifton Campus. U.S. District Court Judge Karen L. Litkovitz conducted the ceremony, which was attended by numerous friends and family members of the new citizens. “It was a great privilege for Cincinnati State to again host this solemn and joyous ceremony,” said Provost Robbin Hoopes.


Campus visitors on Apr. 8, 2019, included Randy Gardner, the Chancellor of the Ohio Department of Higher Education (to the left of Dr. Posey), along with Senior Vice Chancellor Mike Duffey and Senior Vice Chancellor Gary Cates. During the brief visit, Chancellor Gardner met with members of the College Executive Team, toured the new student services areas of the ATLC (Welcome Center, Registrar/Financial Aid, Transfer Center, and Career Center) and spoke to a few faculty and staff members.


  During Spring Break (Mar. 20-23, 2019), a delegation of 22 students, four faculty and staff coaches, and Business Technologies Dean Linda Schaffeld traveled to Colorado State University (Fort Collins) for the National Association of Landscape Professionals’ National Collegiate Landscape Competition.  Participants in the photo above are:


Students and faculty members from Cincinnati State's Audio/Video Production (AVP) degree program got into the swing of the baseball season early by serving as the volunteer production crew for the recording and video of local musician Dave Hawkins' new song, "Opening Day Parade." "Opening Day Parade" is a remake of Hawkins' 2002 song "Opening Day" and honors the 100th anniversary of the Findlay Market Parade.


Cincinnati State Brewing Science students won two awards for their beers during the 27th Annual Bockfest Cincinnati, held Mar. 1-3, 2019.  Student teams (each with 4 members) competed in the Moerlein Brewer's Challenge. Brewing Science Program Chair Carla Gesell-Streeter said all competing teams were given the same ingredients (malt and hops) to brew with. This year, all teams had to brew with ale yeast and could add an adjunct sugar.


CState students celebrating scholarships awarded by the ELL Foundation included (from left ): Yendi Tembely, Nyerehwro Eyeregba, Laurette Kameni, Abigael Timothy, Judith Kafando Lompo, Aya Hijji, Natmetha Santaweesuk, and Sokhna Diop.

Subscribe to Daily News

Overlook Menu

Starts at $3.00

Binary Data

Get More Information

Complete this short form to download your free college brochure.