Career Tech Pathways

Career Tech Grads – check out college credit options

If you graduate from a career tech high school and continue your pathway at Cincinnati State, you may be eligible to earn college credit for high school courses that match our learning outcomes.  Advanced placement and early college credit shorten the time needed to earn a credential or degree, and reduce the cost of your college education.

Career Tech Pathway Schools

  • Butler Tech and Career Development Schools
  • Centerville-Kettering-Oakwood
  • Cincinnati Public Schools; Career-Tech Programs
  • Dayton City Schools- Career Tech Programs
  • Great Oaks Career Campuses
  • Greene County Career Center
  • Mad Rive Local School District
  • Miami Valley Career Technology Center
  • Ohio Valley Career and Technical Center
  • Southern Hills Career and Technical Center
  • U.S. Grant Career Center
  • Warren County Career Center

Career Pathway Options


According to Ohio law, students are guaranteed the transfer of applicable credits among Ohio’s public colleges and universities and equitable treatment in the application of credits to admissions and degree requirements.

CTAG is the alignment

Between secondary and post-secondary career tech content.

CTAG credit is available

For state-approved high school courses that match college course competencies.

Students must successfully complete

The high school course and pass end-of-course examination.

Credit is documented

On a college transcript when the student enrolls in a Cincinnati State program that aligns to the high school career technical pathway.

CTAG credit is described as

Advanced standing or transfer credit. It is ungraded and indicates student eligibility to by-pass introductory technical courses and start at a more advanced level.

Guarantees transferability

Of credits from Ohio high school/adult workforce career-technical programs to Ohio public 2-year and 4-year institutions.

While CTAGS indicate state course alignment, bilateral articulation reflects local needs and partnerships, Cincinnati State faculty collaborate with secondary instructors to create strong educational partnerships that reflect area job demand. Bilateral articulated credit reflects this collaboration and regionally- specific course credit opportunity.

  • Bilateral articulation addresses unique local needs and/or situations
  • A bilateral agreement between a high school or district and a Cincinnati State program specifies credit availability and qualifications
  • Upon student matriculation to Cincinnati State, bilateral college credit is awarded based on a test, certification by high school instructor or postsecondary program chair recommendation.
  • Credit is recognized on a college transcript as advanced standing or transfer credit. It is ungraded and indicates student eligibility to by-pass introductory technical courses and start at a more advanced level.   
Resources For Career Tech Pathway Students

These grants are additional resources that can help career tech pathway students pay for college.


Be Great High School Grant

The Cincinnati State Be Great High School Grant program provides funds for tuition (up to $1,000/year) and books (up to $1,000/year). 

  • Who is eligible: Qualified graduates of Cincinnati Public Schools (CPS) high schools and Cincinnati Youth Collaborative (CYC) high schools. 

Qualifications for the Be Great High School Grant 

  • Graduates of qualifying high schools(see list below of participating schools) 
  • Students must enter the college in a first – time degree seeking status within one year of high school graduation 
  • Will attend Cincinnati State full-time (taking a minimum of 12 credit hours)  
  • Pell Grant eligible 

How to apply: 

  • You must apply to a degree program to be eligible for the Be Great High School Grant. 
  • Complete the FAFSA form for a Pell Grant. Use school code 010345 for Cincinnati State. 

Maintaining and Renewing the Be Great High School Grant 

The Be Great High School Grant is renewable for up to six consecutive semesters for students who meet these requirements: 

  • Attend Cincinnati State as a full-time student seeking an associate’s degree (taking a minimum of 12 credits per semester, in Fall and Spring semesters), until graduation 
  • Maintain academic good standing in the student’s degree program 
  • Meet Cincinnati State standards for Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) 
  • Maintain Pell Grant eligibility 

Schools in the Be Great High School Grant Program 

  • Aiken High School (CPS) 
  • Cincinnati Digital Academy (CPS) 
  • Clark Montessori High School (CPS) 
  • Dater High School (CPS) 
  • Finneytown High School (CYC) 
  • Gamble Montessori High School (CPS) 
  • Hughes STEM High School (CPS) 
  • Mt. Healthy High School 
  • North College Hill High School (CYC) 
  • Norwood High School (CYC) 
  • Oyler School (CPS) 
  • Princeton High School 
  • Riverview East Academy (CPS) 
  • School for Creative and Performing Arts (CPS) 
  • Shroder High School (CPS) 
  • Taft Information Technology High School (CPS) 
  • Walnut Hills High School (CPS) 
  • Western Hills University High School (CPS) 
  • Winton Woods High School (CYC) 
  • Withrow University High School (CPS) 
  • Woodward Career Technical High School (CPS) 
  • Virtual High School (CPS) 

Be Great Grant for Butler Tech

The Butler Tech-Cincinnati State Be Great Scholarship is an award ($3,000.00 aggregate maximum) to students graduating high school who also completed a Butler Tech program. This scholarship helps students from specific high schools within a Butler Tech program. 

The first one hundred (100) students graduating from the following Butler Tech associate school districts (listed below) after having completed a program with Butler Tech, and have applied for admission at Cincinnati State and completed a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), are eligible for the Butler Tech-Cincinnati State Be Great Scholarship.  Priority consideration given to students who complete the admissions application and the FAFSA by March 1. 

  • Edgewood City Schools 
  • Fairfield City School District 
  • Lakota Local Schools 
  • Madison Local Schools 
  • Middletown City Schools 
  • Monroe Local Schools 
  • New Miami  Local  School District 
  • Northwest  Local  School District 
  • Ross  Local Schools 
  • Talawanda School District 


EligibilitCriteria for the Butler Tech-CincinnatState Be Great Scholarship 

In order for students to qualify for this program, students must: 


  • Be identified as an immediate graduate of one of the afore-mentioned schools after having completed a program with Butler Tech, and be within the first one hundred (l 00) students to apply for admission.  Priority consideration given to students who apply for admission by March 1, 2020; 
  • Must have a 2.0 cumulative GPA as shown on a current high school transcript. 
  • Complete and submit the 2020-2021 FAFSA.  On the FAFSA student must list Cincinnati State as a school to receive the FAFSA information.  Priority consideration given to students who complete and submit the FAFSA by March 1, 2020; 
  • Register for twelve (12) or more credit hours per semester beginning the fall term immediately following high school graduation.  Please note:  The award will only disburse for actively attended credit hours totaling twelve (12) or more; and 
  • Students are required to meet all aspects of the Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy as with Federal Student Aid Programs.  Students monitored each semester per policy by the Office of Financial Aid. 

Credit opportunity varies by high school and college program. The Cincinnati State Career Tech Pathway Service team can offer credit information and guidance. For more information, call (513) 569-5707 or visit Ohio College Tech Prep.


Career Tech Pathway Office