Bethesda Alumni Association donated $78,000 for Nursing scholarships

Thirty-nine Cincinnati State Nursing students each received a $2,000 Draher-Pautz Scholarship for the 2019-20 academic year thanks to contributions by the Bethesda Alumni Association.

At the College Board of Trustees meeting on July 24, 2019, Joyce Fugate (3rd from right, front row) President of the Bethesda Alumni Association, presented a check for $78,000 (covering 39 scholarships) to Board of Trustees Chair Mark Walton (far right), President Monica Posey, Associate Dean Denise Rohr (2nd from left) and some of the scholarship recipients.

“We are grateful for the support that the Association provides for our students,” said Dr. Denise Rohr, Associate Dean of the Health & Public Safety Division.

Since 2011, the Bethesda Alumni Association has awarded $391,042 in scholarships to Cincinnati State nursing students.

“We could not be more proud of the fact we can help so many Cincinnati State students each year,” said Ms. Fugate. “We wish each student much success in your nursing journey, in school and beyond.”

Bethesda Hospital and Cincinnati State have deep ties in nursing. In 1989, the two institutions agreed to transfer the Bethesda School of Nursing to Cincinnati State, establishing The Cincinnati State Bethesda School of Nursing.

The Bethesda Alumni Association includes 4,400 members, all graduates of the Bethesda School of Nursing or The Cincinnati State Bethesda School of Nursing.

The Bethesda Foundation administers funds raised by the Bethesda Alumni Association for scholarships, which are named for alumni association members.

In addition to the scholarship funds awarded to currently-enrolled Cincinnati State nursing students, the Bethesda Alumni Association also is awarding $34,000 in Lambert-Pautz Scholarships this academic year to Cincinnati State graduates who are pursuing bachelor’s degrees in Nursing at one of Cincinnati State’s transfer partner institutions.

(Article & photo by Richard Curtis, Cincinnati State Interim Media Coordinator)